Article Text

Download PDFPDF

Highlights from this issue
  1. The Triumvirate
  1. Correspondence to The Triumvirate ; nicholas.hart{at}

Statistics from

The European Respiratory Society meeting in Paris in September provided an opportunity for the respiratory journal editors to meet. We discussed key issues such as the working group, led by David Lederer, that has produced a manuscript which will act as an instruction for authors’ policy document and details the expectations of all respiratory, sleep and critical journals in terms of the methodology for cohort studies and causal inference ( With all this hard work, it was important that we did some sightseeing…

Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower is a wrought iron lattice tower and named after Gustave Eiffel, its designer. The tower is considered as an engineering masterpiece. Exceptional engineering achievement is not necessarily required when considering improved cookstove design to reduce biomass exposure, but it may have significant clinical impact on adult women and children in low/middle-income countries. Megha Thakur reports a systematic review and meta-analysis specifically investigating this question (see page 1026). Improved cookstoves had no demonstrable impact on respiratory infections and severe pneumonia in children or on birth weight, miscarriages, stillbirths and infant mortality. However, improved cookstove design was associated with a reduction in COPD in adult women. Perhaps we need Gustave to …

View Full Text

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles

  • Respiratory research
    Anna Selby Alasdair Munro Kate E Grimshaw Victoria Cornelius Thomas Keil Linus Grabenhenrich Michael Clausen Ruta Dubakiene Alessandro Fiocchi Marek L Kowalski Nikolaos G Papadopoulos Marta Reche Sigurveig T Sigurdardottir Aline B Sprikkelman Paraskevi Xepapadaki E N Clare Mills Kirsten Beyer Graham Roberts
  • Tuberculosis
    Jason E Stout Yanjue Wu Christine S Ho April C Pettit Pei-Jean Feng Dolly J Katz Smita Ghosh Thara Venkatappa Ruiyan Luo on behalf of the Tuberculosis Epidemiologic Studies Consortium Jennifer Flood Lisa Pascopella Julie Higashi Marisa Moore Richard Garfein Constance Benson Robert Belknap Randall Reves Amina Ahmed Timothy Sterling April Pettit Henry M Blumberg Alawode Oladele Michael Lauzardo Marie Nancy Séraphin Richard Brostrom Renuka Khurana Wendy Cronin Susan Dorman Masahiro Narita David Horne Thaddeus Miller
  • Brief communication
    Ali Hakamy Charlotte E Bolton Jack E Gibson Tricia M McKeever
  • Cystic fibrosis
    Nicole Acosta Alya Heirali Ranjani Somayaji Michael G Surette Matthew L Workentine Christopher D Sibley Harvey R Rabin Michael D Parkins
  • Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
    Theodore Lytras Manolis Kogevinas Hans Kromhout Anne-Elie Carsin Josep M Antó Hayat Bentouhami Joost Weyler Joachim Heinrich Dennis Nowak Isabel Urrutia Jesús Martinez-Moratalla José Antonio Gullón Antonio Pereira-Vega Chantal Raherison-Semjen Isabelle Pin Pascal Demoly Bénédicte Leynaert Simona Villani Thorarinn Gislason Cecilie Svanes Mathias Holm Bertil Forsberg Dan Norbäck Amar J Mehta Nicole Probst-Hensch Geza Benke Rain Jogi Kjell Torén Torben Sigsgaard Vivi Schlünssen Mario Olivieri Paul D Blanc Roel Vermeulen Judith Garcia-Aymerich Deborah Jarvis Jan-Paul Zock
  • Environmental exposure
    Megha Thakur Paulien A W Nuyts Esther A Boudewijns Javier Flores Kim Timor Faber Giridhara R Babu Onno C P van Schayck Jasper V Been
  • Respiratory epidemiology
    Andreas M Neophytou Sam S Oh Marquitta J White Angel C Y Mak Donglei Hu Scott Huntsman Celeste Eng Denise Serebrisky Luisa N Borrell Harold J Farber Kelley Meade Adam Davis Pedro C Avila Shannon M Thyne William Rodríguez-Cintrón José R Rodríguez-Santana Rajesh Kumar Emerita Brigino-Buenaventura Saunak Sen Michael A Lenoir L Keoki Williams Neal L Benowitz John R Balmes Ellen A Eisen Esteban G Burchard