ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The BTS Science and Research Committee organised the programme of the Winter Meeting 2010:

Dr I Balfour-Lynn Dr H Bayes Dr C Church Professor A Fisher (Chairman) Dr R Garrod Dr T Maher Dr W Man Mrs M McFeeters Professor A Millar Professor M Morgan Dr D Spencer Dr M Steiner Dr C Wallis

The Society's Specialist Advisory Groups also provided suggestions for symposia content.

Topic Leaders, who organised the symposia, were:

Dr I Balfour-Lynn Dr H Bayes Dr P Beckett Dr J Brown Dr C Church Professor A Fisher Dr B Higgins Professor S Holgate Dr D Kiely Dr M Lipman Dr T Maher Dr W Man Professor A Millar Dr M Steiner Dr D Spencer Dr C Warburton

The BTS/BLF/BALR Young Investigators and Medical Student Award abstracts were refereed and judged by:

Professor A Fisher Dr S Janes

Professor A Millar Professor N Morrell

The refereeing of the abstracts was performed by:

Dr I Abubakar	Dr M Carby	Dr R Gore
Dr I Adcock	Dr R Chambers	Dr M Griffiths
Dr N Ali	Dr A Chauhan	Dr I Hafeez
Dr R Allcock	Professor P Corris	Dr D Halpin
Dr M Allen	Dr P Cullinan	Dr K Harrison
Dr K Anderson	Professor J Dark	Dr R Harrison
Dr A Arnold	Dr C Davidson	Dr N Hart
Professor J Ayres	Professor P Davies	Dr L Heaney
Dr D Baldwin	Dr T Davison	Dr D Hendrick
Dr I Balfour-Lynn	Dr A De Soyza	Ms K Heslop
Mr S Barnard	Dr O Dempsey	Dr M Hetzel
Professor N Barnes	Dr N Diar-Bakerly	Dr N Hirani
Dr P Beckett	Dr M Doherty	Dr D Honeybourne
Dr T Bewick	Dr S Donnelly	Dr L Howard
Dr D Bilton	Mr J Edwards	Dr P Howarth
Dr C Bolton	Dr M Elliott	Professor R Hubbard
Dr S Bourke	Professor A Fisher	Mrs C Hurlin
Professor C Brightling	Dr D Fishwick	Dr R Iles
Dr J Brown	Ms M Fletcher	Dr P Ind
Professor S Burge	Dr A Fogarty	Dr A Innes
Dr G Burns	Dr I Forrest	Dr S Janes
Professor A Bush	Dr A Frew	Dr G Jenkins
Professor P Calverley	Professor J Gibson	Professor S Johnston
Dr I Campbell	Dr S Gordon	Dr A Jones

Dr | Kastelik Dr I Ketchell Dr D Kiely Dr W Kinnear Professor YCG Lee Professor W Lenney Dr C Leonard Professor R Lewis Mr F I im Dr WS Lim Dr S Linnane Dr M Lipman Professor W MacNee Dr T Maher Dr B Marshall Dr N Maskell Dr D McAuley Mrs C Mikelsons Professor A Millar Professor M Morgan **Professor A Morice** Professor N Morrell Dr I Mortimore Professor | Moxham Dr M Munnavar Dr S Nasser Dr E Neville

Dr R Niven Professor P Ormerod Professor M Partridge Dr | Paton Dr H Pattani Professor | Pavord Professor A Peacock Dr M Peake Dr D Peckham Dr | Pepke-Zaba Dr G Phillips Dr P Plant Dr | Pounsford Mr P Raiesh Dr A Reid Dr R Riha Dr R Rintoul Dr E Roddy Dr R Russell Professor I Sabroe Ms | Scullion Dr K Sheares Dr C Sheldon Dr | Shneerson Professor M Silverman Dr A Simonds Professor | Simpson

Professor S Singh Dr S Singh Dr D Singh Dr M Slade Dr | Smith Ms G South **Professor S Spiro** Dr C Stenton Professor R Stockley Dr R Stone Professor | Stradling Dr D Thickett Dr HM Thomas Dr R Thompson Dr A Thomson Professor N Thomson Dr G Tomlinson Dr C Warburton Dr M Ward Dr | Watson Dr D Watson Dr S West Professor MWhyte Dr T Wilkinson Dr MWise Professor A Woodcock Dr M Woodhead

I would like to record my sincere thanks to BTS staff for all their support and expert help in organising this Meeting, and in particular to Cathryn Stokes, Sheila Edwards, Sally Welham, Joan Thompson, Andi Morgan, Kerry Reid and Luke Wilson.

I am also grateful to all listed above and to our session chairs and invited speakers. Special thanks to Dr Toby Maher, Dr William Man, Dr Michael Steiner and Dr Colin Wallis and for their help and guidance in producing the final programme.

Professor Andrew Fisher, Chairman, BTS Science and Research Committee

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The British Thoracic Society wish to thank the following companies for their support of this Meeting:

- Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd Air Products Airsonett AstraZeneca Atrium Bedfont Scientific Ltd Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH & Pfizer Inc BOC Healthcare Cellestis Ltd Chiesi Ltd DMC-Cryopal – Air Liquide Cryogénie Fentons Solicitors LLP
- Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Ltd UK Forest Laboratories UK Ltd GlaxoSmithKline Hill-Rom Hitachi Medical Systems Medela UK Ltd Merck Sharp & Dohme Ltd Napp Pharmaceuticals Ltd Novartis Nutricia UK Olympus KeyMed Oxford Immunotec

PARI Medical Ltd Pentax Pfizer Vaccines Pharmaxis Philips Respironics Rocket Medical PLC S-Med Ltd Teva UK Ltd Uptake Medical Corporation UK Medical Vitalograph Wisepress Medical Bookshop