Article Text

other Versions

PDF

The Effect of Mindfulness Meditation on Cough Reflex Sensitivity
  1. Emma Claire Young (emma.young{at}manchester.ac.uk)
  1. Respiratory Research Group, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
    1. Chris Brammar (cbrammar{at}hotmail.co.uk)
    1. University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
      1. Emily Owen (emily-owen{at}hotmail.co.uk)
      1. University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
        1. Nailah Brown (nailah.brown{at}manchester.ac.uk)
        1. University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
          1. John Lowe (j.lowe2{at}liverpool.ac.uk)
          1. University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
            1. Collette Johnson (collette_11{at}hotmail.com)
            1. University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
              1. Rachel Calam (rachel.calam{at}manchester.ac.uk)
              1. Division of Clinical Psychology, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
                1. Steve Jones (s.jones{at}lancaster.ac.uk)
                1. Division of Clinical Psychology, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
                  1. Ashley Woodcock (ashley.woodcock{at}manchester.ac.uk)
                  1. Respiratory Research Group, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
                    1. Jaclyn A Smith (jacky.smith{at}manchester.ac.uk)
                    1. Respiratory Research Group, University of Manchester, United Kingdom

                      Abstract

                      Background: Chronic cough is common and medical treatment can be ineffective. Mindfulness is a psychological intervention that aims to teach moment-to-moment non-judgemental awareness of thoughts, feelings and sensations.

                      Method: 30 healthy subjects and 30 chronic cough patients were studied in two sequential trials. For both studies, cough reflex sensitivity to citric acid (C5) was measured on two occasions with urge-to-cough rated following each inhalation; between challenges subjects were randomised to (i) no intervention (ii) mindfulness or (iii) no intervention but modified cough challenge (subjects suppress coughing). For the healthy volunteers, measures were one hour apart and mindfulness was practiced for 15 minutes. For the chronic cough patients measures were 1 week apart and mindfulness practiced daily for 30 minutes.

                      Results: In healthy volunteers, median change (IQR) in cough reflex sensitivity (logC5) for no intervention, mindfulness and suppression was +1.0(0.0 to +1.3), +2.0(+1.0 to +3.0) and +3.0(+2.8 to +3.0) doubling concentrations (dc) (p=0.003); significant reductions for both mindfulness (p=0.043) and suppression (p=0.002) over no intervention. In cough patients, median change (IQR) in logC5 for no intervention, mindfulness training and voluntary suppression was 0.0(-1.0 to +1.0), +1.0(-0.3 to +1.0) and +1.0(+1.0 to +2.0)dc, (p=0.046); significant reduction for suppression (p=0.02) but not mindfulness (p=0.35). Urge-to-cough did not change after mindfulness compared to control in either healthy (p=0.33) or chronic cough subjects (p=0.47).

                      Conclusion: Compared to control, mindfulness decreased cough reflex sensitivity in healthy volunteers, but did not alter cough threshold in chronic cough patients. Both groups were able to suppress cough responses to citric acid inhalation.

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.