Article Text

other Versions

PDF

Ultrasound Measurement of Rectus Femoris Cross-Sectional Area and the Relationship to Quadriceps Strength in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
  1. John M Seymour (john.seymour{at}kcl.ac.uk)
  1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom
    1. Katie Ward (katie.ward{at}kcl.ac.uk)
    1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom
      1. Paul Sidhu (paul.sidhu{at}kch.nhs.uk)
      1. King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
        1. Zudin Puthucheary (zudinp{at}btinternet.com)
        1. King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
          1. Joerg Steier (joerg.steier{at}kcl.ac.uk)
          1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom
            1. Caroline Jolley (caroline.jolley{at}kcl.ac.uk)
            1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom
              1. Gerrard Rafferty (gerrard.rafferty{at}kcl.ac.uk)
              1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom
                1. Michael I Polkey (m.polkey{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
                1. Royal Brompton Hospital NHS Trust, United Kingdom
                  1. John Moxham (john.moxham{at}kcl.ac.uk)
                  1. King's College London School of Medicine, United Kingdom

                    Abstract

                    Rationale: Quadriceps weakness and loss of muscle mass predict mortality in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). We hypothesised that a reduced quadriceps cross-sectional area could be detected by ultrasound in COPD patients compared with healthy subjects, and that measurements relate to strength and fat-free mass (FFM).

                    Methods and measurements: Rectus femoris muscle cross sectional area (RFCSA) was measured by ultrasound, and whole body fat free mass (FFM) estimated using electrical bioimpedance. Quadriceps strength was measured by maximum voluntary contraction and twitch tension (TwQ) following magnetic femoral nerve stimulation.

                    Results: 26 healthy volunteers (mean(SD) age: 63(9) years) and 30 COPD patients (67(9) years, %predicted FEV1: 48.0(20.8)%), with a similar FFM participated (healthy: 46.9(9.3) kg; COPD: 46.1(7.3) kg, P=0.193). Mean RFCSA was reduced in COPD by 25% of the healthy mean value (-115mm2; 95% CI: -177mm2 to -54mm2, P=0.001), and was related to MRC dyspnoea scale score, independent of FFM or sex. Maximum voluntary contraction strength was linearly related to RFCSA (r=0.78, P<0.001 in COPD). TwQ force per unit of RFCSA was similar in both groups (healthy mean(SD): 17(4)g/mm2; COPD: 18(3)g/mm2, P=0.657). Voluntary contraction strength per unit of RFCSA was dependent on central quadriceps activation and peripheral oxygen saturation in COPD.

                    Conclusion: Ultrasound measurement of the rectus femoris cross sectional area is an effort-independent and radiation-free method of measuring quadriceps muscle cross-sectional area in COPD that relates to strength.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.