Article Text

other Versions

  • You are currently viewing an earlier version of this article (July 11, 2008).

PDF

Dysregulation of elastin expression by fibroblasts in pulmonary emphysema : Role of Cellular Retinoic Acid Binding Protein 2
  1. Laurent Plantier (laurent.plantier{at}bch.aphp.fr)
  1. INSERM U700, France
    1. Cécile Rochette-Egly (cegly{at}titus.u-strasbg.fr)
    1. Institut de Génétique et de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire, France
      1. Delphine Goven (delphine.goven{at}paris7.jussieu.fr)
      1. INSERM U700, France
        1. Anne Boutten (anne.boutten{at}bch.aphp.fr)
        1. Hôpital Bichat, France
          1. Marcel Bonay (marcel.bonay{at}bch.aphp.fr)
          1. Hôpital Bichat, France
            1. Guy Leseche (guy.leseche{at}bch.aphp.fr)
            1. Hôpital Bichat, France
              1. Michel Fournier (michel.fournier{at}bch.aphp.fr)
              1. Hôpital Bichat, France
                1. Bruno Crestani (bruno.crestani{at}bch.aphp.fr)
                1. Hôpital Bichat, France
                  1. Jorge Boczkowski (jorge.boczkowski{at}inserm.fr)
                  1. INSERM U700, France

                    Abstract

                    Background: All-trans retinoic acid (ATRA) stimulates elastin synthesis by lung fibroblasts and induces alveolar regeneration in animal models of pulmonary emphysema. However, ATRA treatment has brought disappointing results in human emphysema. We hypothesized that a defect in the ATRA signalling pathway contributes to the defect of alveolar repair in the human emphysematous lung.

                    Methods: Fibroblasts were cultured from the lung of 10 Control and 8 Emphysema patients. Elastin mRNA was measured in those cells in the presence of incremental concentrations of ATRA. Retinoic Acid Receptors, Retinoic X Receptors and Cellular Retinoic Acid Binding Proteins (CRABP) 1 and 2 mRNAs were measured as well as the CRABP2 protein content. The effect of CRABP2 silencing on elastin expression in response to ATRA was measured in MRC5 lung fibroblasts.

                    Results: ATRA at 10-9M and 10-8M induced elastin mRNA expression by 182% and 126% in Control but not in Emphysema fibroblasts. RARs, RXRs and CRABP1 mRNAs were similarly expressed in Control and Emphysema fibroblasts while CRABP2 mRNA and protein were lower in Emphysema fibroblasts. CRABP2 silencing abrogated the induction of elastin expression by ATRA in MRC5 fibroblasts.

                    Conclusion: Pulmonary emphysema fibroblasts fail to express elastin under ATRA stimulation. CRABP2, which is necessary for elastin induction by ATRA in MRC-5 cells, is expressed at low levels in Emphysema fibroblasts. This alteration in the retinoic acid signalling pathway in lung fibroblasts may contribute to the defect of alveolar repair in human pulmonary emphysema. These results are the first demonstration of the involvement of CRABP2 in elastin expression.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.