Article Text

other Versions

PDF

STANDARDS OF CARE FOR OCCUPATIONAL ASTHMA
  1. David Fishwick (d.fishwick{at}sheffield.ac.uk)
  1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom
    1. Christopher Michael Barber (chris.barber2{at}sth.nhs.uk)
    1. Centre for Workplace Health, HSL, Buxton, United Kingdom
      1. Lisa M Bradshaw (lisa.bradshaw{at}hsl.gov.uk)
      1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom
        1. Joanne Harris-Roberts (jo.harris-roberts{at}hsl.gov.uk)
        1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom
          1. Mandy Francis (mandy.francis{at}hsl.gov.uk)
          1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom
            1. Steven Naylor (steven.naylor{at}hsl.gov.uk)
            1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom
              1. Jon Ayres (j.g.ayres{at}abdn.ac.uk)
              1. University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom
                1. Sherwood Burge (sherwood.burge{at}heartofengland.nhs.uk)
                1. Birmingham Heartlands Hospital, United Kingdom
                  1. Jonathan M Corne (jonathan.corne{at}qmc.nhs.uk)
                  1. Queen's Medical Centre, United Kingdom
                    1. Paul Cullinan (p.cullinan{at}ic.ac.uk)
                    1. National Heart & Lung Institute, United Kingdom
                      1. Timothy Laszlo Frank (tlfrank2cliffrd{at}yahoo.com)
                      1. North West Lung Research Centre, United Kingdom
                        1. David Hendrick (d.j.hendrick{at}ncl.ac.uk)
                        1. Royal Victoria Infirmary, United Kingdom
                          1. Jennifer Hoyle (jennifer.hoyle{at}pat.nhs.uk)
                          1. North Manchester General Hospital, United Kingdom
                            1. Maritta Jaakkola (m.jaakkola{at}bham.ac.uk)
                            1. Birmingham Heartlands Hospital, United Kingdom
                              1. Anthony Newman-Taylor (a.newman-taylor{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
                              1. National Heart & Lung Institute, United Kingdom
                                1. Paul Nicholson (nicholson.pj{at}pg.com)
                                1. Society of Occupational Medicine, Faculty of Occupational Medicine, BOHRF, United Kingdom
                                  1. Robert Niven (robert.niven{at}smuht.nwest.nhs.uk)
                                  1. North West Lung Centre, United Kingdom
                                    1. Tony Pickering (tony.pickering{at}manchester.ac.uk)
                                    1. North West Lung Centre, United Kingdom
                                      1. Roger Rawbone (roger{at}grawbone.freeserve.co.uk)
                                      1. HSE, United Kingdom
                                        1. Chris Stenton (chris.stenton{at}nuth.northy.nhs.uk)
                                        1. Royal Victoria Infirmary, United Kingdom
                                          1. Christopher Warburton (cjwarby{at}liverpool.ac.uk)
                                          1. University Hospital Aintree, United Kingdom
                                            1. Andrew D Curran (andrew.hsl.curran{at}hsl.gov.uk)
                                            1. Centre for Workplace Health, United Kingdom

                                              Abstract

                                              Occupational asthma remains a common disease in the UK, with up to 3000 new cases diagnosed each year. The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) estimate the cost to our society to be over £1.1 billion for each 10-year period . In October 2001, the Health and Safety Commission agreed a package of measures aimed at reducing the incidence of asthma caused by exposure to substances in the workplace by thirty per cent by 2010. Key to this aim are primary prevention by proper risk assessment and exposure control together with secondary prevention to ensure reduction in the delay between the development of allergic symptoms at work (normally nasal or respiratory) and appropriate advice to the affected worker and workplace.

                                              • Asthma
                                              • Management
                                              • Occupational
                                              • Rhinitis
                                              • Workplace

                                              Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                              Request permissions

                                              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                                              Linked Articles

                                              • Airwaves
                                                Wisia Wedzicha, Editor-in-Chief
                                              • Editorial
                                                Susan M Tarlo