Article Text

other Versions

PDF

Early detection of cystic fibrosis lung disease: multiple-breath washout vs. raised volume tests
  1. Sooky Lum (s.lum{at}ich.ucl.ac.uk)
  1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom
    1. Per Gustafsson (per.gustafsson{at}vgregion.se)
    1. Queen Silvia Children’s Hospital, Göteborg,, Sweden
      1. Henrik Ljungberg (henrik.ljungberg{at}sodersjukhuset.se)
      1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom
        1. Georg Hulskamp (hulskamp{at}uni-muenster.de)
        1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom
          1. Andrew Bush (a.bush{at}rbh.nthames.nhs.uk)
          1. Royal Brompton Hospital, London., United Kingdom
            1. Siobhán B Carr (siobhan.carr{at}bartsandthelondon.nhs.uk)
            1. Royal London Hospital, United Kingdom
              1. Rosemary Castle
              1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom
                1. Ah-Fong Hoo (a.hoo{at}ich.ucl.ac.uk)
                1. UCL, Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Trust, London., United Kingdom
                  1. John F Price (john.price{at}kcl.ac.uk)
                  1. King's College Hospital, London, United Kingdom
                    1. Sarath Ranganathan (sarath.ranganathan{at}rch.org.au)
                    1. UCL, Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Trust, London., United Kingdom
                      1. John Stroobant (john.stroobant{at}uhl.nhs.uk)
                      1. University Hospital Lewisham, London, United Kingdom
                        1. Angie Wade (a.wade{at}ich.ucl.ac.uk)
                        1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom
                          1. Colin Wallis (c.wallis{at}ich.ucl.ac.uk)
                          1. Great Ormond Street, United Kingdom
                            1. Hilary Wyatt (hilary.wyatt{at}kcl.ac.uk)
                            1. King's College Hospital, London, United Kingdom
                              1. Janet Stocks (j.stocks{at}ich.ucl.ac.uk)
                              1. UCL, Institute of Child Health, London, United Kingdom

                                Abstract

                                Lung clearance index (LCI), a measure of ventilation inhomogeneity derived from the multiple-breath inert gas washout (MBW) technique has been shown to detect abnormal lung function more readily than spirometry in preschool children with Cystic Fibrosis (CF), but whether this holds true during infancy is unknown.

                                Objectives: We compared the extent to which parameters derived from the MBW and the raised volume (RVRTC) technique identify diminished airway function in infants with CF when compared with healthy controls.

                                Methods: Measurements were performed during quiet sleep with the tidal breathing MBW technique being performed prior to forced expiratory manoeuvres.

                                Results: Measurements were obtained in 39 infants with CF (mean[SD] age: 41.4[22.0]w) and 21 controls (37.0 [15.1] w). CF subjects had significantly higher respiratory rate (38 [10] vs. 32[5] bpm) and LCI (8.4 [1.5] vs. 7.2[0.3]), and significantly lower values for all forced expiratory flow-volume parameters compared with controls. Girls with CF had significantly lower FEV0.5 and FEF25-75 than boys (mean [95% CI girls - boys] - 1.2[-2.1, -0.3] for FEV0.5 Z-score; FEFFEF25-75: -1.2[- 2.2, -0.15]). When using both the MBW and RVRTC techniques, abnormalities were detected in 72% of infants with CF, with abnormalities detected in 41% on both techniques and a further 15% by each of the two tests performed.

                                Conclusions: These findings support the view that inflammatory and/or structural changes in the airways of children with CF start early in life, and have important implications regarding early detection and interventions. Monitoring of early lung disease and functional status in infants and young children with CF may be enhanced by using both the MBW and the RVRTC.

                                • child
                                • cystic fibrosis
                                • forced expiratory manoeuvres
                                • infant
                                • ventilation inhomogeneity

                                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                Request permissions

                                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                                Linked Articles

                                • Airwaves
                                  Wisia Wedzicha